Upcoming Events

Northern Regional Championship, 28 Nov to 5 Dec

Trial Flights & Gift Vouches


Fly with an experienced, qualified instructor. Suitable for young and old, 10 - 80!
Give a Trial Flight Voucher to someone keen on learning to fly!
More about Trial Flights & Gift Vouchers »

Weather & Webcams

New! Kaimai Weather Station & Cam

Webcam Timelapse

Click to view larger. Looking SE towards Matamata.
Click to view larger. Looking North towards Te Aroha.

Weather Links


RASP Forecast
Metservice Matamata Forecast
MetVUW Forecast Charts

Handy Links


Glider Tracking
Matamata Soaring Center
Gliding New Zealand
WentFlying pilot logbook

Gliding Clubs


Auckland Aviation Sports Club, Whenuapai
Auckland Gliding Club, Drury
Tauranga Gliding Club
Taupo Gliding Club
Vintage Kiwi Glider Club


Come Soaring With


        Piako Gliding Club

If you’ve ever dreamed of flying, gliding is for you! We fly all year around, and visitors are welcome any time.


Book a Flight

We fly most non-raining Saturdays, Sundays and Wednesdays. Trial flights & vouchers can be booked any day unless otherwise mentioned.

   Date Details Book
Sat 28th Nov 20 Club Flying from 1pm
Northern Regional Contest
13 Bookings
Book
Sun 29th Nov 20 Club Flying from 1pm
Northern Regional Contest
Book
Mon 30th Nov 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Club Flying from 1pm
Northern Regional Contest
1 Booking
Book
Tue 1st Dec 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Club Flying from 1pm
Northern Regional Contest
1 Booking
Book
Wed 2nd Dec 20 Club Flying from 1pm
Northern Regional Contest
2 Bookings
Book
Thu 3rd Dec 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Club Flying from 1pm
Northern Regional Contest
1 Booking
Book
Fri 4th Dec 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Club Flying from 1pm
Northern Regional Contest
1 Booking
Book
Sat 5th Dec 20 Club Flying from 1pm
Northern Regional Contest
1 Booking
Book
Sun 6th Dec 20 Flying from 11am
2 Bookings
Book
Mon 7th Dec 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Training Course On   info about our courses »
ATC camp
Book
Tue 8th Dec 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Training Course On   info about our courses »
ATC camp
Book
Wed 9th Dec 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Training Course On   info about our courses »
ATC camp
Book
Thu 10th Dec 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Training Course On   info about our courses »
ATC camp
Book
Fri 11th Dec 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Training Course On   info about our courses »
ATC camp
Book

Find the full roster here

Where to find us


Matamata Aerodrome, 9km north of Matamata town, Waikato, New Zealand. About 40 minutes drive from Hamilton View map...