Upcoming Events

Start of Season Briefing Saturday 3rd Oct - 9am

The club is currently under COVID-19 Alert Level 2

Sign in to contact tracing sheets at clubhouse, OR use QR code with government COVID 19 app.
Details of Alert Level 2 procedures posted at clubhouse and caravan.

Trial Flights & Gift Vouches


Fly with an experienced, qualified instructor. Suitable for young and old, 10 - 80!
Give a Trial Flight Voucher to someone keen on learning to fly!
More about Trial Flights & Gift Vouchers »

Weather & Webcams

New! Kaimai Weather Station & Cam

Webcam Timelapse

Click to view larger. Looking SE towards Matamata.
Click to view larger. Looking North towards Te Aroha.

Weather Links


RASP Forecast
Metservice Matamata Forecast
MetVUW Forecast Charts

Handy Links


Glider Tracking
Matamata Soaring Center
Gliding New Zealand
WentFlying pilot logbook

Gliding Clubs


Auckland Aviation Sports Club, Whenuapai
Auckland Gliding Club, Drury
Tauranga Gliding Club
Taupo Gliding Club
Vintage Kiwi Glider Club


Come Soaring With


        Piako Gliding Club

If you’ve ever dreamed of flying, gliding is for you! We fly all year around, and visitors are welcome any time.


Book a Flight

We fly most non-raining Saturdays, Sundays and Wednesdays. Trial flights & vouchers can be booked any day unless otherwise mentioned.

   Date Details Book
Sat 19th Sep 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Dinner Cancelled
6 Bookings
Book
Sun 20th Sep 20 Flying from 11am
4 Bookings
Book
Wed 23rd Sep 20 Flying from 12pm
3 Bookings
Book
Sat 26th Sep 20 Flying from 11am
2 Bookings
Book
Sun 27th Sep 20 Flying from 11am
1 Booking
Book
Wed 30th Sep 20 Flying from 12pm Book
Sat 3rd Oct 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
SOSB 9:30am Flying from 1pm
Book
Sun 4th Oct 20 Flying from 11am Book
Mon 5th Oct 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Training Course On   info about our courses »
Instructor training
Book
Tue 6th Oct 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Training Course On   info about our courses »
Instructor training
Book
Wed 7th Oct 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Training Course On   info about our courses »
Flying from 12pm
Instructor training
Book
Sat 10th Oct 20 Flying from 11am
1 Booking
Book
Sun 11th Oct 20 Flying from 11am Book
Wed 14th Oct 20 Flying from 12pm Book

Find the full roster here

Where to find us


Matamata Aerodrome, 9km north of Matamata town, Waikato, New Zealand. About 40 minutes drive from Hamilton View map...